Tracing God’s Hand

Eleven months ago, compelled by the spiritual need and drawn toward its diverse culture, we arrived in South Florida.

Seven months later we had already reached the end of our first attempt to make an impact (Mosaix Church).

The four-month silence of this blog reflects the challenge of answering some hard questions:

“Was I really following God’s leading when I led my family from our healthy life and fruitful ministry in Virginia to South Florida?”

“If I was following God, and if I’m not going to start a church, why are we here?”

Processing those questions included good things like reading Scripture, praying, journaling, talking with friends, and considering several ministry opportunities. Unfortunately, I also spent (wasted) time trying to “figure it all out” like a business analyst.

Amidst it all, God spoke clearly to me. Not about the externals of what to do or where to go, but with insights about something much more difficult to change . . . me.

Two weeks ago, we decided to stay in South Florida until we clearly discerned what God was leading us to do. We signed a rental lease on a house across the street from both our church and the school our kids will be attending this year.

Then, a few days ago, the Worship Pastor at Grace Fellowship (the church I have been serving for the past year) unexpectedly resigned, and the elders asked me to serve as the Interim Worship Pastor.

I can now easily trace God’s hand bringing me to South Florida, working through the challenges of the past year, and calling me to lead the worship ministry at Grace Fellowship.

Times are coming in my life and in yours when His hand will not be so easy to trace.  May this story encourage us all to walk by faith and not by sight.

Categories: Experiences | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Tracing God’s Hand

  1. Charlene Hollins

    Praise God! I am so happy that you are at peace. Your life has been tumbled around for quite awhile and now God has placed you where He wants you to be, leading people to worship. Your gifts in this ministry allows you to bring people to Christ through the words you speak before you sing and through the music you bring to worship! Praying for you and your family! God Bless You!

  2. Angela

    Thank you for sharing your story. We all need to be reminded that God has a perfect plan and we can only see the immediate. It is difficult to wait patiently and trust that He has it covered but when we do, it is awesome to see how he blesses us. Congratulations! Can’t wait to come back down and worship with you.

  3. Lyn

    I know God will use your wonderful talent in amazing ways. I am praising God with you that your journey is being revealed with your new position, home and school. Not that new challenges won’t come your way, but I pray your family will find community and feel joy. Grace Church will be blessed by your leadership and I pray those who are seeking and those who don’t know the Good News will walk through the doors!
    We miss you and send much love to all the Allen Family!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

