An Open Door

This morning I asked for folks to pray a very specific prayer: that God would open the door for me to share the message of Christ.  I went to work, and I started receiving emails notifying me that people had replied to the blog – they were praying.  All day I just kept looking forward to how God was going to answer that prayer.

After I read (or get ready for me to show my age – my kids and I took turns reading) “Officer Buckle”, I went outside to get in my amazing Acura loaner car (yes, the Hyundai is in the shop, AGAIN).  I had planned to drive somewhere and look for someone to tell about Jesus because I knew people had been praying about it all day.  (I am aware that it sounds crazy to go and look for someone to tell about Jesus, and I am aware of how sad it is that that sounds crazy).

My cool Acura didn’t even make it out of the driveway.  I saw someone who I knew was going through a really painful experience.  I expressed my genuine concern for him, and it turned into a long conversation with several members of his family.  To respect their privacy, I am not going to mention the intense struggles this family faces on a day to day basis.  But sharing about God’s love, that what we need is His forgiveness – even though we can’t earn it, sharing about God’s perspective on dying, and how following Christ is about more than a ticket to heaven . . . all of this flowed naturally into the conversation.

I don’t know any better than any of you exactly how God uses prayer to accomplish things, but it sure is exciting to watch it happen.   To all of you who prayed for the open door, thank you.

There is probably someone in your neighborhood hurting like the family in my neighborhood.  I pray that God will open a door for you to share the message of Christ. Get ready, and keep your eyes open – God loves to answer that prayer.

Categories: Experiences | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “An Open Door

  1. JIm and Linda Hartz

    Praise the Lord for this opportunity! We’ll keep praying and trusting!

  2. Joe Witte

    Wow Shawn, that was great. It shouldn’t be amazing that God answered these prayers so quickly but I am amazed. We will continue to pray for you as you pray for us to open our hearts to those who are hurting and need to hear the Gospel and that God loves them.

  3. “…ask the Lord of the harvest to send out workers into his harvest field..” Thanks for being an aswer to prayer.

  4. Larry & Shelley Doty

    Shawn, this is absolutely wonderful! We are enjoying reading your posts. Take care of yourself and the family.

    Luv ya, Shelley & Larry D.

  5. Ray and Elaine Hahn

    Wow. We wondered how God would answer all the prayers. We have enjoyed following your journey.

  6. Grace

    Wow amazing how fast Jesus can answer a pray 🙂 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

